Should government fund public transport so as to be free for those who are using it? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A mass number of people are dependent on public transportation on daily basis. It is often argued that should this service by the government be provided free of cost for its people. I absolutely agree that providing this facility free will greatly benefit both, the people and the country. Firstly, the main advantages that will help the nation will be to encourage more people to choose public transport rather than commuting with personal vehicles. This will directly reduce air pollution which will improve the health of its citizens. Furthermore, fewer vehicles will ease the traffic congestion on the roads, allowing people to reach their offices on time. Moreover, the consumption of fuels will gradually decrease if the majority of people opt for public transport thus, saving millions of dollars on fuel import. Secondly, individuals who cannot afford personal vehicles and are solely dependent on a public mode of transport will greatly benefit from this. Low and middle income groups can seek job opportunities in far areas previously, which was beyond their reach due to high fare rates. Also, people will additionally save on expenses such as car maintenance and various road taxes. In conclusion, However, Initially, there are some disadvantages such as a decrease in the government funds due to no income through fares and also, increase in expenses to maintain the standards of public transport. Overall, the benefits to both, the individual and the country will outweigh all the cons. Hence I totally agree with the idea of providing public transportation free of charge to the public.