University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Overseas education has become dramatically popular among the youth today. Although studying in another country is beneficial for career progression and personal development, it may not be a cost-effective option. In my opinion, despite the opportunities, graduates have a multitude of major challenges in studying abroad. The major benefit of studying overseas is developing a myriad of transferable skills and to learn to adapt to a different cultural environment. This aids them not only in understanding to communicate with people from different communities but also to look at things from various angles. Moreover, the graduates learn to budget their expenses by taking accountability for rudimentary expenditures. To exemplify, a quantitive study by Oxford University maintains that over 30% of the graduates who have pursued studies overseas are more responsible and careful while making a buying decision. For these aforementioned reasons, studying abroad is proved to be advantageous to many as they develop interpersonally in all aspects of life. However, the challenge faced by most graduates is the cost of such education in comparison to studying at their native place. Furthermore, they have to apply for loans in their countries as well as work part-time during their studies which makes their lives more miserable, distressful, and sometimes might also affect their grades, hence losing interest in the studies. For example, while studying in London, I had to work during the weekends to manage my living expenses which ultimately resulted in getting lower grades. Owing to such issues, it is evident that studying abroad might be strenuous for some graduates. In conclusion, more and more graduates are predisposed to studying abroad. This has proved beneficial in their personal development; however, proved very expensive both financially and psychologically. In my opinion, a student could even progress in their life even studying in their own country rather than making such a fuss by studying overseas.