Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage, and what solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All over the world, big cities are having a problem with accommodation for their residents. This essay will first discuss its etiologies mainly the migration from rural areas and overpopulation and it will also give some viable solutions to this dilemma which include developing rural sites and adopting population control measures. There are various reasons for the housing shortage in big cities.One of the major causes is the relocation of the populace from the countryside.Most of the villages in any country do not have adequate facilities and work opportunities as a modern city. This means that in order to have a good lifestyle and better job prospects, people have to shift to bigger towns causing the expansion of these regions. In addition, the growth of the population at a rapid pace is responsible for a decrease in the land for constructing new houses. For instance, when adults get married, they move away from their parent house and tend to buy a separate home of their own for their family and kids. One of the practical approaches to this issue is to uplift the countryside with better infrastructure and the provision of civic facilities. As a result, the individuals will be motivated to work in their hometowns and at the same time enjoy the perks of their urban counterparts. Moreover, the dilemma of housing shortage can be overcome with an effective campaign for limiting the population.Japan is one such example, where the growth rate has gone into negative figures after strict government policies and robust media campaigning. In conclusion, the quagmire of a decrease in residential space in metropolitan cities is mainly due to urbanization and the rapid growth of the populace. This can be alleviated by efforts for the implementation of birth control measures and the development of the countryside.