Healthcare should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this opinion?

Nowadays, some state that universal healthcare should be applied since it is a person’s right to receive free healthcare. However, others persist with the opinion that healthcare is a benefit and should be held accountable by individuals. From my perspective, in order to have a sustainable system, healthcare should be paid for by individuals taking responsibility for their own health. It is clear that money is crucial for hospitals to purchase the best equipment, provide the best facilities and payment for hospital staff. In order to obtain necessary fundings, government investments are not substantial enough. If patients are able to pay for their treatments, it would aid the hospitals in acquiring medical necessities. Furthermore, with the hospital equipped with high quality equipments and exceptional doctors, patients would receive the best care possible. On the other hand, universal healthcare does provide some undeniable advantages. With free healthcare, all citizens would be able to receive adequate healthcare. This could be beneficial for people who are otherwise unable to afford the payment necessary for their treatments. Universal healthcare has the potential to be great, however, with no income, hospitals cannot pay for their necessities as well as a salary high enough to attract extraordinary doctors, therefore the best treatment cannot be provided to everyone. In conclusion, free healthcare is not a viable option in the modern society and it is a privilege. Although some people are unable to receive care or purchase insurance, they could seek out programs to aid their fees which most hospitals provide.