Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Over the recent years, a number of vaccination procedures have become essential components of life to fight deadly diseases. While some people believe that parents should choose and select the injections for their children, I would agree with those who argue that the necessity of such vaccines for infants should be enforced by the law. Firstly, important procedures similar to booster injections should not be left with for an individual to decide as they are bound to carelessness. This is because a number of parents avoid the hassle of visiting doctors and spending money with the preception in mind that their babies would not catch the disease. This type of behaviour has resulted in big countries like India suffering from large scale epidemics in the past, like the Polio vaccine. A recent survey stated that the country would have never gotten rid of such immunizations if the government had not mandated the antidote. For example, the Health Organization of India took up a huge initiative of giving such injections at their houses, which helped its citizens. Furthermore, it is a natural acceptance of human to stay updated only with concerns that they are interested in or are enforced with. For instance, the census of 2019 stated that 70% of parents in India were not aware of the names of relevant vaccines which are needed for their children. Hence, their infants only received vaccines that were mandated by the govt. Conversely, if the government had not authorized such procedures for children and youngsters, it would be unsurmountable to vanish the proliferation of life-threatening diseases. In brief, I believe vaccination should be mandated by law as individual's decisions are prone to lack of knowledge and avoidance of related hassles which can have devastating effects on child and the nation as a whole.