You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In this metropolitan world, advertisements have a huge impact on consumers. Although some people believe that commercials have a negative effect on the audience as they are forcing customers to purchase, others think that it is improving their lives. In this essay, I will outline why this is the case, and why I think that excessive and unnecessary ads should be unacceptable. Some group of individuals harbours a perspective that advertisements provide them up to date information regarding new products that will directly impact their lives in a most positive manner. To exemplify, if they come to know about any item that they are really in need of, with the convenience of advertisements they come to know about the quality and quantity of that product. But it does not undermine the detrimental results of having too many ads during television series. On the other hand, some people think that, including me, ads are more distracting to young generations as they are a most vulnerable group of society because this kind of activity puts pressure on them. In the aftermath of this, it misleads and dominates them easily. Macdonalds, for example, uses popular cartoon characters to promote their Happy meal to young customers. Hence, it deliberately makes their parents buy things that they do not have actually in need of. In conclusion, there is no doubt that advertisements provide the most uncomplicated way to buy things whilst, in my opinion, the excessive tendency of this has a deleterious effect on people who are frequently in touch with these ads.