A lot of people believe that the amount of violence shown on TV and in the cinema affects the actions of our young people and therefore increases the amount of violence in our society today. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be done to reduce violence in our society today?

Today there is a belief that people, especially the young generation, commit crimes under the impression of acts of violence shown on TV and in the cinema. In this essay, I will give my opinion about the statement and will try to find ideas on how to reduce the level of violence in our society. The history of cinematography knows cases when the rise of violence was provoked by a movie. A well-known fact is A Clockwork Orange by Stanley Kubrick caused some crime in the UK in the 1970s. Unfortunately, sometimes people understand ideas incorrectly that movies bring. However, today the development of the cinema industry has gone far ahead. Movie creators have advanced technologies to create and show very realistic murders on the screen. The humanity live in the era of easily available content. Thus, that makes it complicated to keep children away from sensitive and dangerous for mental health movie scenes of violence. At the same time, the statistics shows that the level of violence in the world has been declining for at least the last 20 years. It is a common trend for all age groups including the young generation. In my opinion, TV and the cinema don’t have a profound impact on children that people choose to think. Nevertheless, society should take care of moral and ethical principles of young people in general and in case the trend of non- violence changes. Public campaigns such as the culture of peace should be organized and promoted in schools, TV, and public spaces to cultivate an early age empathy, compassion, and respect for all members of society. From the practical side, advertising the knowledge about the consequences of violence and training the resolution skill could help to avoid increasing a committing crime provoked by media content. To conclude, nowadays, the level of crime is decreasing. Easy access to movies and TV shows which include acts of violence don’t provoke young people to commit crimes. However, it will be helpful to develop the culture of peace and non- violence in society to prevent possible problems in the future.