Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is common to see governments giving a great deal of money to ill patients. A lot of people have proposed that instead of investing in the cure of these patients, the government should support a healthy lifestyle. This essay will show why I agree with this view. Stopping the money investment in treatments of people who are already ill might trigger a health crisis. A big portion of the population is struggling with diseases in hospitals and if the government suddenly decides to stop funding them, they might end up dying. Also, some people are born already ill, their treatments are extremely expensive and the government does not have another choice but to be accountable for their life. For instance, the US government is completely supportive of this matter. A big part of the money collected from taxes in America goes to the treatment of patients with cancer. Lastly, promoting a healthy lifestyle is not always effective. Some people just decide to ignore it and after all, they keep eating unhealthy food and having bad habits. To some extent, investing in healthy style of communities might prevent many diseases. Starting with the future generations, they will be aware of what could cause diseases or how could they be less likely to get one. For instance, if the government introduces healthy food campaigns in schools, kids will be aware of the benefits of eating healthy and therefore, there might be less obesity among people in the future. Also, if people have more opportunities available to them, like free sports centres or free nutritions plans, they would be encouraged to be healthy. Also, investments in more ads on tv about the risk of eating junk food or smoking, for instance, could create a sense of responsibility in people ' mind, which might result in the drop of some illness among communities. In conclusion, the government should not stop funding hospitals and ill people. I think that there could be a balance between the amount of money they spend on it and the money they could spend on a healthy lifestyle. To me, as long as ill people are not left behind without another choice but to die, healthy lifestyles could still be promoted.