Some people think schools should teach students to form good behaviour in addition to providing formal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that students should be educated to conduct themselves in good manners besides normal courses. Personally, I completely agree with this idea. Some people consider schools as institutions merely for taking classes and learning knowledge, because they believe that the purpose of attending schools is to acquire high academic qualifications and well-paid jobs. However, in my opinion, this view ignores the importance of behavioural education. Firstly, good manners help students better integrate into the school community. Students are supposed to learn to get along with their classmates and teachers since they usually stay with classes or groups of people when they are on campus. If they have terrible manners, they will hardly build reliable friendships with their mates and may fail to complete assignments which require cooperation. Therefore, educators should include behaviour teaching into their curriculums to help students merge with schoolmates. Secondly, education in manners benefits an individual’s lifelong behavioural habits. For example, a person whose behaviour was regulated in his childhood tends to be more popular and reliable when he is out in the workforce. In fact, people barely change their behavioural patterns after they are grown up, so good manners should be cultivated when they are young. Teachers should take responsibility for educating children on how to conduct themselves because people tend to spend most of their time on campus in their youth. In conclusion, I think it is necessary to require educators to build the right behavioural habits for their students other than academic education, which is conducive to people ’s growth.