The average standard of people’s health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Health has been an important point of discussion in recent years. It is argued that people ’s health will deteriorate in the future. I completely agree with this opinion and think that people ’s well-being is worsening both physically and mentally. Firstly, people are less careful with their physical health. Nowadays, many novel treatments have made a huge breakthrough and thus, diseases are claimed to be easier to combat. As a result, people started to pay less attention to keeping fit because they think that it is simple to regain health. For example, although two-thirds of chronic diseases are preventable by implementing a healthy lifestyle, the number of people with such diseases are still on the rise as the government increases the investment made in treatments. This shows that people lack awareness of disease prevention and can lead to deteriorating health conditions. Secondly, stress-related disorders have become more prevalent. People, especially younger generations, are living in a society that has become increasingly competitive. The job market requires more effort to land in and to hold one’s place in a position. Meanwhile, prices for vehicles and homes have reached a record high, and both are pointing to further rise. These factors lead to immense pressure felt by people, which deteriorates their mental health by causing anxiety, depression. In fact, the percentage of people experiencing stress, anxiety, and depression has nearly doubled in Australia over the past five decades. In conclusion, I think that the benchmark for people ’s health will be lowered in the coming years as people are less proactive in maintaining health and more prone to suffer from external stress.