Some people think that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while other people argue that it is wrong. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is certainly up for debate whether animal testing in the medical field should be accepted in society. Although I am concerned about the rights of animals used for testing, I believe it is an inevitable process needed for the public. First of all, it is undoubtedly not fair that humankind makes other animals suffer for their own good. Testing animals are often injected with viruses or planted with cancer cells for experiments, which subsequently causes them pain and death. This is not only cruel for the animals but also unlimitedly expanding humans' excessive desires for getting comfortable lives. People who are against animal usage in research maintain that medical developments for extending human lifespan are unnecessary. While advocates may argue that animals used are limited to low intelligent and non-extinct listed like mice, their counterparts maintain that every life counts. On the other hand, there is a consensus that all medical products should be certified as safe before applying them to humans. In addition, it is through continuous innovation and efforts in medicine that many diseases become curable or less fatal. A salient example is AIDS, which was the most deadly disease now controlled with proper monitoring and medication. Patients born with disabilities are as well in need of medical support to fight for inequality. Therefore, medical development is a lifeline for people who are suffering. Furthermore, an unprecedented disease such as COVID-19 which is causing detrimental threats to lives is urgently calling for new vaccines to halt the pandemic. In conclusion, the issue is controversial and there are positive and negative impacts. Since we cannot curb the use of animals for medical purposes, we should introduce stricter regulations to protect animal rights.