Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. do you agree or disagree?

Due to the surging health issues caused by excessive sugar consumption, many advocate increasing the price of sugary products. I believe that imposing higher prices on products with certain levels of sugar will eventually produce a healthier generation. If products with high sugar content become more expensive, people are likely to opt for a more economical option. The government needs to regulate the minimum content of sugar, defined as the safe limit. Products with sugar content beyond that limit must comply with the minimum price point. Given the limited options for foods and beverages within the normal price range, customers are more likely to choose a balanced diet with minimal sugar content. This practice mainly targets the middle-income class, which allocates a specific proportion of income to food, compelling them to adopt better diets, thereby maintaining healthier bodies and cash flow. Thus, I believe that by increasing the price of products with abundant sugar, people will choose healthier and more economical options. Additionally, producers will be affected by the scheme and adjust their products to fall under the safe category limit. As the majority of customers will switch to the less expensive product option, producers need to stay competitive by creating healthier products priced within a certain range. For example, the so-called sugar tax applied in the UK is an initiative to increase the tax on sugary products. The outcome of the implementation was surprisingly positive, as producers reduced the harmful nutrients in their products to maintain the same price range. In conclusion, I completely agree with raising the price of products that have excessive sugar content with the aim of having healthier future generations. By increasing the price, consumers will opt for more economical options, and producers will vie to produce less harmful products for customers.