Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Some people believe that animals should not be in experiments and law should protect them, while others argue that essential scientific breakthroughs require animals in their processes. This essay will explain that experimentation on animals should be justified because there are no options that can simulate experimental outcomes as effectively as using animals. Animals should be a part of experimentation legally with clear limitations and scopes. To protect randomly picked animals, the regulator can impose policies that clarify which animals or species are allowed to use. Labs must also grow their specimens with a clear objective of experimenting, decreasing the probability of killing animals from other sources. This should be treated in the same way as animal farm that feeds animals to food industry. By having clarity of scopes and limitations, no random lives will be harmed unexpectedly. Even if using animals in experimentation sounds terrifying, it is undeniable that there are no better alternatives which can reflect the effects from experiments as precisely as using animals. Animals are the most similar species to humans; therefore, results from laboratories can be implied as possible results on humans. Without trying on animals and directly experimenting on individuals, more severe issues can happen, probably leading to massive fatalities. For example, if vaccines have not been tried on animals before, doctors cannot realize their side effects. This can finally cause unintentional diseases. In conclusion, some people think that it is not right to experiment on animals and it should be regulated. However, I think experimentation on animals can be done under reasonable policies, limiting species to be used and the way that laboratories get them. Although there are many choices to do experimentations, animals are the best option that cannot be replaced because they are similar to humans and the effects on them can reflect the real outcomes of experiments.