Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With rapid urbanisation and industrialisation, human activities have made a significant impact on the environment. Soon, people recognize and acknowledge the degradation of the environment by their unchecked expansion. However, most people do not actually care and consider it a minute problem. In this essay, we will elaborate on the mindset of people towards environmental issues. With rising sea levels and vast variation in climatic conditions, people are aware of the fact that their activities are impacting mother earth. Despite recognizing, very little action is seen in the direction to reduce it. For example, every day thousands of people in India prefer to travel in their personal vehicle to reach their offices. Even though public transport like the metro is available and accessible, still they choose convenience over the environment. At the International forums, various seminars and conferences on the environment keep taking place with leaders of many countries in attendance. Great speeches and announcements do make the top headlines of the news, but in reality, no concrete steps have been seen yet. For instance, new thermal plants are still being sanctioned to produce electricity by burning coal. Though, knowing the fact that burning fossil fuel is one of the major reason for air pollution, still choosing conventional method rather than going for renewable sources of electricity generation. To conclude, it is clear that we have been degrading our environment and also consider ourselves responsible for it but many have failed to care about it. Some hide under the weight of convenience while others put up blame on the economics of implementation. Whatever the reason be, people really do not care enough about the environment.