Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is a fundamental right of every individual. It is a well-known fact that societies have progressed, and undoubtedly more minor crime rates seen where teaching is rendered to their citizens. It is paramount for any developing and developed nation to impart education to their convicts while still in jail. However, others are opposed to this view. The essay agrees with the former view. First and foremost, why criminals should be educated in prison is to instil moral values like empathy and change their negative perceptions towards life. Also, if inmates educated, they would understand that it is a fundamental right of an individual to live. While it imbibes reverence for other people, they might become responsible citizens of society. For example, few brutal offenders run schools successfully after given education to them. So, it indeed transforms and shapes their behaviour positively. Notwithstanding, others reckon that it is a sheer waste of money and time investment on educating them. This school of thought stems from the stubborn nature of felons. An eye for an eye will admittedly make the whole nation blind. Furthermore, several studies have shown that slum areas, where most of the habitats are illiterate, are breeding grounds for most crimes. Hence, if the government provides literacy to these people, they will perceive the world with humanity, kindness and compassion. It is safe to conclude, although few criminals are of rigid attitude to any change, schooling has played a pivotal role in utterly transform their personality traits into a positive. In this way, any society or country can create a better environment for persons to lead prosperous lives.