Some people think that social media platforms are useful for business and making new friends, while others think that such websites are harmful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of social media.

With the development of technology, the use of social media platforms has become more and more popular. However, the debate on whether such websites can bring more good than harm has been heated. In this essay, I will outline both sides and elaborate on them. To begin with, social media allows people to make friends with people all over the world. For example, the function of discussion groups in websites like Twitter can gather people with similar interest and people can chat with each other and build up a further connection. Therefore, communicating through the internet help people to meet one another despite the distance barrier. Meanwhile, young people can be over-rely on social media and have low self-recognition. To illustrate this, many youngsters are indulged in posting all of their life on platforms like Instagram and Facebook. Nevertheless, what the teenagers are doing is not just for sharing but seeking more recognition from people whom they don't know in the forms of pressing the 'like' button for their post. In this way, posts with numerous 'like' may make them feel satisfied while any bad comment may cause depression and lead to low self-esteem. To conclude, the popularity of social media platforms will only lead to a greater amount of internet users instead of fewer ones. Although it is undeniable that social platforms help remove the geographical barrier for us, we should not overlook the harms they can bring to our mental health. In order to reap the benefits of different platforms to the utmost, we shall try our best not to rely too much on the satisfaction social media can bring to us.