Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoo. While others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views

Wildlife protection has become one of the main concerns of individuals around the globe. Whilst some people assert that caging animals in zoos could be a solution to preserve the biodiversity issues, others find it illogical to restrict animal's movements. Both views need to be addressed before formulating an opinion. Zoos are not proper places to keep wild animals. To start with, animals ' natural habitat is usually enormous, starting from savannas in Africa to rainforests in South America, thus their bodies are not adapted to function properly in narrow zoo cages. More specifically, restriction of movements can adversely affect their health. Additionally, animals should have their rights, they should not be used as a mean of entertainment for people. Instead, zoos ' primary purpose should be - education. For instance, zoos can offer children educational programmes. Lastly, animals in zoos frequently suffer from malnutrition, the reason is insufficient resources. To illustrate, zoos cannot afford to buy tonnes of meat to feed all the predators. Although, a thread of some species' extinction can not be denied. Currently, around 26,500 species are estimated to be at risk of extinction. The main factors driving biodiversity loss are overhunting, illegal hunting, illegal fishery, human habitation and pollution. However, specially protected areas would help to conserve the wildlife. For example, grizzly bears are frequent victims of hunters, they would be safe in reservations. Consequently, their population would increase again. To sum up, zoos are not proper places for animals ' conservation, which is soundly based on the above reasoning. Instead, governments should fund the protection of biodiversity by establishing new preservation areas.