In recent years, many small shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Is it an indisputable fact that small stores have been constantly closing, as a result of people buying goods in malls or well-known companies. In this regard, this trend could negatively affect the economy of the country and also the rate of unemployment in several places. First of all, it is evident that both huge enterprises and small ones are pivotal for the economic growth of a country. Behemoth organizations have played a vital role in developing and developed nations, because they can attract more people to spend money and hence elevate the percentage of income received. However, it is crucial to bear in mind that, the more stores are opened, the more likely would be to have a steady economy. Subsequently, some individuals are struggling to receive a job offer, because some places do not have any vacancy available. If people continue purchasing items in shopping malls instead of supporting local enterprises, the rate of unemployment may increase exponentially. A quintessential example of that would be the intense closing of small organizations during the outbreak of COVID-19. In Brazil, people launched a campaign for local markets in order to support them during the pandemic situation. In conclusion, it is essential to promote awareness for the population about the pivotal role of supporting neighbor’s stores. Given that situation, people need to understand the consequences on the economy, if local organizations do not survive to that increasing boycott and also how dreadful would be if more individuals do not have work to support their families.