Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid rise of computers and mobile phones, the prediction that human communication has irreversibly transformed from word-centered to picture-centered is becoming a reality. In my opinion, this transition is a necessary outcome of the development of image technologies, and we should focus on how to utilize them rather than lament what they have replaced. It is true that on the Internet, young people are increasingly reliant on stickers or pictures to express their ideas. For instance, a popular dancing cat sticker is used by teenagers to signify ecstasy, spreading so rapidly that it is humorously referred to as the Covid-19 of stickers. This trend might lead some young people to forget how to spell 'ecstasy'. From this perspective, concerns about the negative effects of electronic devices on young people's reading and writing skills seem valid. However, when we reconsider the assumption underlying this conclusion, our opinions may shift. We tend to believe that words are inherently superior to pictures. Yet, if the goal of both words and pictures is to effectively convey ideas, there is no reason to view vivid pictures as inferior. I see this concern as a way for adults to boast about their proficiency with words, rather than a genuine issue. Thus, this is a false proposition, and young people do not need these unwarranted anxieties and potential interventions. To summarize, there is indeed a trend among young people towards replacing words with pictures in their daily conversations. However, I do not see this as a degeneration of expression. Instead, I consider it an innovation in the age of imagery.