Young people who commit crimes such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults who commit the same crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many countries the world over, criminal activities now are not only done by mature individuals but also are committed by adolescents. Consequently, there has been, in recent years, a growing body of opinion in favour of punishing young offenders in the same way as adult sinners. Being a rational mind, I, too assent to this notion, for I am of the view that indifferent law represents equality and acts as a deterrent to commit any offence. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that stands out deals with the significance of imposing the same punishment rules for youngsters and adults as a way of establishing indiscrimination epitomize in society. In other words, if a country’s laws pertaining to crimes or any other issue differ according to age, there raises the question of discrimination among citizens. Therefore, in order to enforce a law equally for all, it is imperative to giving punishment to anyone under the unique law irrespective of age. To cite an example, in Singapore, the general public can tell the punishment of any crime in that the nation’s law and rules are equal for everyone, making the country’s judicial system transparent. Another critical rationale in reference to why punishment rules should be the same for all ages people is necessarily synonymous with preventing people to do crimes. To put it simply, if young offenders are treated softly compared to adult criminals, there are more chances of re-offence by those juveniles. To exemplify, an empirical study conducted by Cambridge University reveals that 95% of young offenders commit criminal activities the second time down to not receiving strict punishment during the first time in jails. Hence, so as to deter youngsters to think about doing any crime it is paramount to impose the same punishment law for all citizens. In essence, with a view to establishing a law equally for all and preventing youngsters from committing offences, it indispensable that all people regardless of their age should receive the same punishment for any offensive activities.