Some people believe that  the use of animals for the purpose of experiments is cruel while others believe that it is necessary for the development of science. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many researchers and scientists run their tests and experiments on animals, and lots of people believe this is inhumane. There are some people who also believe that using live specimen as test subjects is needed to gain new insight and knowledge in the field of science. This essay will delve into the arguments of both sides, and show why I agree more with the second argument. It is no secret that living beings have been used as test subjects since as long as science has existed. There shouldn't be any surprises to see why so many people object to this, since the testing done on live animals is often times unpredictable, and can produce a variety of different results. The long-term and short-term effects of being subject to these experiments - whether the effects are physical or psychological - are harmful more often than not. Furthermore, animals - unlike humans - are unable to consent or volunteer as test subjects since they have less intelligence. However, despite the fact that we toying with the lives of living creatures, the cost would be far greater if something where to go wrong with a human life. Many life-saving medical technologies and drugs are available today because we were able to test them on non-human beings first. For example, we examined how lasers and radioactivity may be used to destroy and delay the growth of cancer cells in live organisms. Of course, we could not conduct such a radical test without first analyzing its effects on other animals of lesser intelligence and cognitive function. To conclude, I agree with the argument that scientific experiments and tests using animals as living beings is a necessary evil in order to advance the human race.