Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Economic development is seemingly achieved at the cost of the environment. This has led some to propose that governments should halt economic growth, but many people posit it as the only panacea for starvation and poverty. My stance is that economic advancement is not entirely to blame for environmental problems and that it plays a key role in alleviating world hunger and breaking the vicious circle of poverty. Admittedly, there is empirical evidence suggesting how much harm countries thriving economically are doing to the environment. This can be seen in the disappearance of natural habitats due to deforestation, the extinction of many animal species due to poaching, and pollution of various kinds due to industrial and agricultural waste. Such problems, however, are fundamentally caused by maladroit governments that either overlook the repercussions of their inaction or condone pernicious human activities because of short-term economic incentives. Thus, the environment could still be protected if governments around the world strove for economic sustainability. I am convinced that growth in global wealth is the only way to eradicate hunger and poverty. The former problem can be remedied by providing those living in destitute regions with food and shelter, but this provision is not financially viable without economic progress. Furthermore, a successful economy invariably engenders more job opportunities, hence allowing more economically disadvantaged people to feed themselves and their families. Nevertheless, the lack of important knowledge areas or employability skills confines poor people to a small number of jobs. In order to holistically curb this problem, countries have to allocate more funding to education, for example in the form of educational facilities in less well-off neighborhoods and free vocational courses for underemployed and unemployed adults. Again, without sufficient funds, this capital allocation is impossible. In conclusion, economic development does not necessarily exclude the protection of the environment and vice versa, provided that governments rigorously circumscribe detrimental economic activities. Thus, the promotion of economic growth should be embraced because it is the only way to tackle starvation and poverty.