In the past lectures were the traditional methods of teaching large numbers of students. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. Do the advantages of this new approach outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, technological advancements have crept in all sectors and education is no exception. While some educational establishments have adopted modernized techniques, others still follow orthodox ways and are missing out on the perks of computerization. In my opinion, I believe there are more positives to lectures delivered using modern-day technology when compared to the conventional mode of teaching. To begin with the negatives of online education, an important one is that this kind of classes tends to be less interactive. This is because the vast majority of the web-based courses are recorded upfront, with occasionally a few interactions in the form of comments. Furthermore, tutors delivering lectures through the internet cannot provide instant feedback and support unlike in classrooms. In contrast, with the latest ways, students can attend class at their comfortable time and can always schedule a one-on-one session with teachers through video conferencing and other means. As a result, unconventional mode of teaching is usually convenient compared to traditional teaching. However one of the significant advantages of employing technology to teach is flexibility which saves a lot of time. The reason is pupils can schedule the class as per their free time, which is very ideal for working people. In addition, people can work full time whilst studying. On the contrary, traditional methods have strict timings and are usually during day time, it is also noteworthy that the schooling fees are way up northwards and are very difficult to afford. Thus flexibility and cost are more important and they come as an added feature with online school or courses. In conclusion, the advantages of flexibility and cost of educations are outweighed by the disadvantages of collaboration, compared to conventional teaching. The collaborative concerns can also be offset in this day and age by video conferencing at regular intervals.