Some people say that governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, considering increasingly serious environmental problems and housing problems, some people think that governments should deal with them through decreasing pollutants emission and improving housing condition so as to protect residents from a wide variety of illnesses. I think that overall, I agree with the view. Undoubtedly, governments should not just concentrate on pollutant discharge and housing problems. After all, the methods to help citizens improve their health are more than those. Governments can also encourage people to keep fit through strengthening healthy education, enhancing foods safety supervision and developing clean energies. Nevertheless, environmental problems and housing conditions are the two main sources of illness and diseases, which should arouse more attention from governments. First of all, many industries based on fossil fuel, including agriculture, manufacturing industries and so forth, will release a huge number of pollutants into water and air, which not only has extremely negative impacts on the air quality and water resource safety but also might harm people’s bodies. For instance, if citizens are living in a place where carbon dioxide overshoot for the long term, they are likely to be suffering from some respiratory disease. Therefore, governments should make some policies to limit some industries’ consumption of fossil fuel and releasing pollutants. Besides, many people’s living conditions are being threatened by a series of negative factors that might lead to health issues, such as noise pollution, limited places for outdoor exercises and so on. Noise pollution might decline people’s quality of sleep and provide them with a higher possibility of getting other diseases such as depression and headache. Only through governments ’ more efforts to improve their housing conditions, these problems can be relieved and even solved. To summarize, I believe that reducing pollutant emissions and resolving housing problems should be seen as two main methods to improve the public’s health.