Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this?

In recent times, people from around the world from different cultures tend to follow similar culinary habits, dressing mannerisms and also use the same products and services. While some believe that this paradigm shift has more positives, others feel that there are significant drawbacks. In my opinion, I believe there are merits of globalization. To begin with, the negatives of globalization, an important one is that it leads to the cultural decline of a country. This is because in counties like India, which is very diverse and culturally rich, if people started to don modern clothes, soon India will start to lose its identity. Furthermore, watching similar shows have a serious impact on children’s behaviour. For example, people in America move out of their parent’s house once they turn eighteen years old, which is not the case in India and if followed this will become a shocker to the Indian culture. As a result, following similar practices across the globe usually results in declining diversity. However, one of the significant advantages of globalism is the improvements in technology, which makes life easier. The reason is multinational brands like Apple, Dell, Google and others through their research and development has made communication between continents a piece of cake. Furthermore, following similar lifestyles improve mutual understanding which promotes peace among the nations and prevents confrontations. On the contrary, we must not forget that these advances are disrupting domestic markets and cause loss to local talented and skilled workers. Thus, sharing technology and improved living standards come as an added benefit with sharing similar products and services. In conclusion, the merits of technology and improved living standards are outweighed by the disadvantages of the declination of culture and diversity. The disadvantages can also be offset in this day and age if changes are adopted in moderation.