Using a computer everyday can have more negative than positive effects on children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Certain people believe that the excessive use of computers by children has more drawbacks as compared to the benefits. I strongly agree with this view because computers not only damage the physical and psychological health of children but also result in the wastage of their time. Firstly, computers are causing significant damage to the physical health of children. Increased screen-time of children reduces their physical activities which is the prime cause of teenage obesity. As a result, there is a hike in the reported cases of cardiac and diabetic issues. A recent report by PIC states that in the past two decades the incidents of teenage heart attacks in Pakistan have increased by almost 70% among children who use computers for more than three hours a day. Secondly, the increased use of electronic gadgets by children is also deteriorating their psychological condition because of their reduced social interaction as they as confined in the four walls of their homes. Consequently, children lack real-world interaction and therefore do not have any active social circle. Resultantly, this induces several psychological problems, such as depression, anxiety, and loneliness. Finally, wastage of time is another de-merit of information technology that children face nowadays. Computers offer various attractions to the young generation in the form of video games and movies which keeps them distracted from studies and healthy sports. As a result, their academic performance is adversely affected and this effect is carried forward to their professional life. For example, among my high-school classmates, the ones who had the least interest in electronic games are the most successful ones now. In conclusion, increased use of information technology is damaging the mind and body of the young generation, along with wasting their precious time. In my opinion, the disadvantages of computers for children far outweigh the advantages they may obtain from the use of it.