Some people think that zoos are cruel and have no place in the modern world. Others feel that zoos still serve a useful purpose. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Zoos can be quite controversial among animal lovers. While some people believe that zoos provide a benefit in some ways, I side with those who feel that zoos are inhumane, and should be shut down. On the one hand, it could be argued that there are some pros of having zoos. Firstly, zoos could provide a suitable living ecosystem for animals, especially endangered animals. Take Sumatran elephants for example, which are often poached for their ivory tusks; they might probably benefit from a protected environment that protects them from illegal hunters. Apart from this, the animals could probably have better health due to the availability of veterinary care. Thus, these two factors might be able to help them to extend their life expectancy. On the other hand, I agree with those who think that zoos should be closed for their cruelty. Firstly, by being captive inside zoos, animals can feel extremely uncomfortable living in a cage, where the cage’s size is relatively smaller compared with their natural habitat. For instance, whale sharks, although they have immense size, are often seen being confined in relatively small pools, which consequently limits their physical movement and even worse damages their body. Keeping them in captivity likely creates a detrimental effect on their mental well-being, and it is also categorised as immoral. Furthermore, zoos are created just for business purposes, where the animals are often forced to perform a show – such as a circus show – to entertain the visitors, causing the animals not to have adequate rest and leading to health issues. This situation happens because the zoo's owners and the management are irresponsible, merely focusing on gaining as much money as possible without considering the negative impacts on the animals. In conclusion, while zoos could protect animals from external threats and serve educational content, these reasons cannot justify their operation simply because holding animals in confinement has questionable ethics. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that commercial zoos are no longer permitted to operate.