Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most society. How does this quality affect each individual and is it a positive or negative trend?

A person’s personality trait is highly influential in both their personal as well as professional life, especially if one is competitive. However, I opine that one should be competitive as it could bring people more benefits. With regard to individual gains, being competitive drive people to change for the better. Take a student for example. Imagine what would happen if all the students in the class did not care about who was the best student, who had a higher score than themselves, the class could never make any progress. Therefore, even at an early age, the merit of this attribute is of significant value, whilst there are some arguments against this notion on the ground that little children should be carefree and should not think much about competing with friends so that they can enjoy a light-hearted childhood. However, this may lead to a generation of people just lazing around and having no desire to advance in life. From my perspective, people should be encouraged to always aim higher in life. For example, one can try to find ways to improve the quality of products they are selling to increase their competitive edge over their rivals. Another case in point is one employee can spend extra hours on their work to reach more customers than their co-workers. Not only is this attitude towards work beneficial to each person, but also to the company as a whole. Having said that, however, it is certainly true when someone is always obsessed with winning, it is absolutely unhealthy. Therefore, fair competitiveness must always be the key philosophy in any contention. In summary, I am of the opinion that the encouragement for people to be competitive is necessary, but it should be done in a fair manner and not at the expense of other people.