Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoo. While others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

The number of zoos erected in the past decade has increased significantly causing poachers to bring more species out of their habitat than before to an artificial environment where humans can observe and study them. In 2019, the Singapore zoo brought in more than 200 different animals from all over the world for its visitors to see. Whether or not zoos are both entertaining and educational while remaining ecologically relevant is up for debate and will be discussed in this essay. The main benefit of a zoo is to study animals and educate the public about them. Zoos can help in doing so by allowing visitors to look at these creatures and take notes about them. Zoologists can perform some tests on them and get more information about them to present to the public. A survey conducted by the National University of Singapore in 2018 has said that wildlife parks have provided vital information to the students and many engineers to have studied new species and have tried to replicate their designs into their work. To sum up, it can be said that zoos are helpful in advancing our understanding of the animal kingdom and at the same time allow us to incorporate some of the things learnt from animals into our architecture and machines to make them more efficient and natural-looking. A major drawback of these parks is that animals are not handled with care and are often mistreated. Many of the zoo staff don't take good care of animals and the habitat giving them poor nutrition. A study conducted by Harvard University has claimed that more than 80% of the animals in zoos across America are being abused and mistreated.What is happening to these animals is indeed a terrible thing to do and must be stopped at all cost. In summary, zoos are also said to abuse species providing them with poor living conditions. In a nutshell, zoos have both educated the public and collected valuable information about animals that can be used in the fields of engineering and architecture. However, the disadvantages of zoos outweigh the advantages.