Causes of global warming and its effect on the environment.

Nowadays there is a growing concern about global warming and its detrimental impact on the environment. I will explain three effects and several remedies for this pressing issue in this essay. Arguably the gravest problem caused by global warming is climate change. Extreme weather conditions such as drought, thunderstorms, floods and hurricanes take a toll on the global population destroying properties and compromising agricultural land. Next, it appears that increased greenhouse gases in the atmosphere give rise to increased acidity of the ocean and endangered marine life. This disrupts the ecosystem and the biosphere which can be the cause of loss of food supply. In addition, heat-related illnesses such as dehydration and heat stroke may lead to death and disabilities. For instance, In Malaysia recently, due to extremely hot weather, school children are not allowed to do outdoor activities after a few fatal incidents of heat stroke among students. Turning to the possible solutions, perhaps the most immediate action that an individual can take is to minimize their own carbon footprint. By using public transport, instead of travelling by private cars, and least usage of polyester clothing, greenhouse gas emissions can be reduced. Furthermore, an environment-friendly practice such as recycling is of great value to the environment as it significantly impairs carbon emissions from production and manufacturing processes. Finally, if the government took the step to subsidize renewable energy sources such as solar panels and electric cars, the public would turn to this alternative more willingly thus fossil fuel utilization could be lessened. In conclusion, the main problems seem to stem from environmental and individual factors. The key solution would be concerted actions from the government and individual awareness and responsibility to care for the environment.