Nowadays, some countries are spending a lot of money to make it easier to use bicycle. Why is this? Is it the best solution to transport problem?

In many parts of the world, government money has been allocated for promoting cycling among citizens. In this essay, I will get to the roots of this trend and explain why I believe that encouraging people to cycle more is not the optimum way to tackle the existing transport problems. Commuting by bike is increasingly facilitated by governmental bodies owing to various reasons. One of them is because this means of transport aids people to reduce their excess fat and cholesterol in this era of a sedentary lifestyle. Consequently, they can avoid higher risks of some major diseases such as obesity, high blood pressure or diabetes. In addition, facing worsening environmental issues such as air pollution, global warming and even climate change, many countries find it imperative to make cycling become a mainstream activity to reduce the emissions released from petrol-fueled vehicles like motorbikes and cars. In other words, by funding for this eco-friendly mode of transportation, there will be several improvements in problems related to the environment in the long term. However, I hold a firm belief that making cycling more popular is not the best measure to solve transport problems, especially traffic congestion. Despite numerous benefits of cycling for people’s health and the environment, it is undeniable that it cannot satisfy people’s demands for mobility on a daily basis. In particular, it is quite challenging and impossible for ordinary citizens to commute by bike within a far distance since it is so exhausting and uncomfortable. In other words, it may take a long time to persuade citizens and apply cycling into society with an aim of reducing traffic jams. Therefore, another solution namely expanding roads and building bridges should be considered by the authorities in order to reduce transportation issues. This enables passengers to comfortably drive and also reach their desired place within a shorter period of time without obstructing other vehicles. In conclusion, the reasons why countries are willing to spend a huge amount of money to make bicycle usage easier among the public are varied and understandable, yet I am convinced that compared with promoting cycling, investing in road expansion and upgrade traffic infrastructures is more effective for addressing transport problems.