Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

The issue of whether to have a fixed punishment for all crimes is certainly a controversial one. Despite the argument that some people believe that fixed penalties are more convenient, others reject this notion. There are several advantages and disadvantages. First of all, one of the advantages is that one does not need to go to the court; going to the court is time-consuming, which is inconvenient for the regular workers who have to work during the day. That is, it is an uphill battle for employees to quit frequently because of some small crimes, such as driving over speed, or eating gum in the MRT station that is not allowed in Taiwan. Another positive effect is having additional income for the government. For example, if a driver parks his vehicle in a place, which is banned to park; he has to pay a fixed punishment to the government. As a consequence, the country has an additional budget to improve transportation or other uses. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks is that people may commit crimes that are not as important as before. People would avoid to do the crimes which contribute to the death penalty or other serious penalties. Moreover, as all crimes become fixed punishment, some people may think that money can solve any problems; it is also unfair to other people who probably are harmed by the criminals. These disadvantages possibly lead to a huge safety issue in the society. In conclusion, although fixed punishments are more efficient, we still need to deeply consider its long-term influences on the large scale.