Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well, while others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few individuals contend that penalties are the most efficient way to discipline youngsters, whereas opponents argue that appreciations are more helpful. Both strategies have their pros and cons and I am not able to take a clear stance in favour or against any policy; both approaches must be adapted according to the circumstances. To begin with, the people who are in favour of punishment have many justifications to support their viewpoint. The different types of penalties including fines, corporal punishments, and physical tasks develop the deterrent among adolescents which refrains them from wrongdoing. Furthermore, punishments for mistakes left imprints in their innocent minds in order to differentiate between good and bad in their later lives. For instance, some disciplinary actions to implement the rules and regulations of schools discipline the lives of pupils, which are extremely useful for their future. On the contrary, others advocate that rewards and praises more beneficial. First and foremost, appreciations do not affect the self esteems of children, which avoid many psychiatric disorders such as anxiety, depression and psychosis. Moreover, it is proven in the research that not only the academic performance of students who are praised is far better but also they behave well than deter-driven kids. For example, the proportion of population-based notorious criminals in India is far more than in European countries where Indian schools have opted for punishments whereas, Europian uses rewards policy predominately. In conclusion, even though punishment is the most convenient way to maintain discipline, it can impact the mental healths and social behaviours of youngsters. I think that sensible use of both can make young ones the useful a part of society.