Very few school children learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet, this is a critical life skill that should be taught as a part of school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a well-known fact that a smaller number of students know the value and usage of money, thus, this is a crucial skill and should be included in the school syllabus. This essay will first discuss what kind of impact teaching money management to school children and it will then address the question of whether this can be a positive or negative trait. To begin with, learning to manage money develop pupil professionally and personally. Those who know the basic financial fundamentals would improve their knowledge in mathematics, statistics, problem-solving skills, management skills, leadership skills and decision-making skills. As a result, they can be prominent, can compete with anyone and success in their carrier. For instance, recent research carried by the University of Colombo showed that of professionals who learn finance in their childhood, 83% have been working in the highest positions in their organizations. Furthermore, teaching money matters in schools enrich students’ personal values such as learn to respect their parents knowing that how hard they earn money as bread-winners, to be patient, to budget their finances and plan their life according to what they have. Consequently, it may lead them to be a good citizen in society, For example, one of the famous phycologists Jenash Ray stated that adults who knew the value of money at a young age, are the happiest people now. In conclusion, teaching to manage money in schools is an important decision because it would help individuals to shine personal and professional aspects.