It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that allocating public money for enhancing a robust lifestyle aiming at staving diseases off is more necessary than allocating it for the treatment of people who are already ill. From my perspective, I subscribe to the former idea. To begin with, by virtue of having a healthy lifestyle, people may reduce medical expenses, saving a great deal of money, therefore, investing public money in promoting a robust one is appropriate and accurate. For instance, if public money is spent on raising inhabitants’ awareness of the adverse health effects of smoking, they will be inclined to avoid using cigarettes and thanks to this, they will be less susceptible to lung cancer, so they can cut down on medical expenses. In addition, the best method to prevent any illness is to develop a healthy lifestyle. This can be explained by the reason that when inhabitants may improve their well-being or have a good physique, they might build up immunity against many diseases, leading to the possibility that the risks of suffering from many illnesses will be lessened. For instance, the Japanese government has invested public money in running health campaigns to incentivize their residents to have a healthy diet. Thus, nowadays, Japanese people seldom develop diseases that can put them in life-threatening situations. In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that it is better to spend public money on promoting a robust lifestyle in order to prevent illnesses.