In many countries, people do not recycle waster materials, such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Recycling materials such as glass, plastic and cartons, is a necessary method that helps to abate our impact on the environment. Many people across the world, however, failed to recycle their waste and put out everything in the landfill. This essay will discuss why this might be the case and how this predicament can be mitigated. The reasons for the lack of recycling seem to be quite simple. Firstly, in some, countries conclusive recycling programs either do not exist or relatively new. People, therefore are generally unaware of the value of recycling their refuse. Being used to seeing all the rubbish going to the same bin, they simply continue to do the same, without putting too much thought into it. Secondly, it is inconvenient, this seems to be the common reason why they opted for recycling – they do not want to put in an extra effort, as the recycling pick up points are located far away from residential pockets and to think it is just a waste of energy and resources. Lastly, the lack of space, particularly at home, means having separate bins for segregating different waste materials and unfortunately, for some, hanging on to recyclables for few days is an eyesore. People can be encouraged in many ways; a comprehensive national campaign is required. A good start would be to explain to the public what economic and environmental benefits recycling can provide. This can be done via flyers to be delivered to each house and advertising on television or radio, partnering with famous celebrities and athletes. The next step is to make recycling as easy as possible. On the streets, recycling bins should be placed following each general rubbish bin for it will convenient to each household. Home recycling should be facilitated by various means, such as arranging collections and providing the community with free recycling bin bags. To conclude, it is the lack of awareness, space and inconvenience that makes them reluctant to participate in this useful practice. With the right encouragement and proper way, when will fully understand the importance and its advantages. Recycling their rubbish at home and outside conveniently and swiftly.