It is quite common for both parents in a family to work. Sometimes this is because they need two salaries to survive whereas other times it is their choice. What are the problems you see in this situation? How does this affect the children and the family life?

Nowadays, a radical transformation in family settings is being observed where both the spouses take up employment: some out of interest, and others out of compulsion. However, it does have its own drawbacks and pitfalls, that has great impact on the whole family, particularly with the children. When the father and the mother are employed, they are overwhelmed by their professional obligations that leaves them with little time to devote to their families and personal realms. Such situation can create a potential communication barrier and distrust among the family members since the interaction and openess is thrown out the window; it is superseded by official work and duties. This makes spouses become oblivious of aspirations and expectations of each other, often turning things sour, and the biggest victims of such disturbances are the sons and daughters. Moreover, this change is fuelling clashes among married partners: there is always an agreeable tension between the two, as both consider their professional goals to be more critical, and hence wish to given due priority over the other. Besides this, fulfilling family obligation also draws a lot of disagreement among the two, which can sometimes turn bitter. Thus, leading to an unease in the environment of home and family. Such a situation hits growing ones worst; their mental growth is adversely impacted. Due to continuing tussle between their mothers and fathers, young ones start feeling insecure, and often grow up as nervous adults, who have problems forging relationships and effectively interacting with others. In many cases, children – if they remain unconcerned – in such family settings, tend to grow up as apathetical individuals. To conclude, it can be said that even though there are certain drawbacks that the phenomena of both spouses bring in, these can be overcome by a better planning and sharing of responsibilities of family and household chores.