When people need to complain about a product or poor service, some prefer to complain in writing and others prefer to complain in person. Which way do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, customer satisfaction has been a significant criterion for several stores. One way to measure this indicator is by calculating the complaint rate, which refers to the number of reported defective products or poor services received by a company. There are two methods to file a complaint: in writing and in person. This essay will discuss both approaches and illustrate some examples when possible. To begin with, the submission of a written complaint can be very useful. This is primarily due to the fact that words can communicate our ideas more efficiently and effectively. In writing, customers are required to identify the problem, elaborate on its details, and attach images. For example, if a carrier delivers a package that is damaged, the receiver can take a picture and send an email to the complaint department at the company. He or she will need to specify the condition in which the shipment is handed and as well as the worth of the item purchased. Furthermore, a written communication, such as an e-mail, is accepted as legal evidence in case the situation necessitates to be escalated to the upper management or the involvement of a lawyer. In contrast, articulating our concerns verbally can be a double-edged sword. From one perspective, individuals can inquire about the manager in a store and speak to him or her directly. This can accelerate the process where the consumer is refunded or helped. However, in some cases, consumers might not be able to sustain their temper. This phenomenon occurs in particular if the complaint is attributed to an item not eligible for refund or does not lie within the company’s accountability due to malpractice. During the problem, for instance, car insurance that does not cover faults within the engine after 5 years, a person who feels overwhelmed or upset could cause a scene, prompting the company to terminate the contract or refuse to assist him or her due to the aggressive behaviour. In conclusion, reporting about a problem with a product or a poor service we encounter is a civil right. However, since written complaints are more secure legally and can propel commercial establishments to act, it is a better method, in my view, to reach out to those who can resolve an issue.