It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a suggestion that the government should not allocate as much taxpayers’ money to remedy those who are already suffering from medical problems. Instead, it ought to be channelled to the promotion of a health-enhancing way of life. I opine that this idea is flawed. In fact, which are the money should go to primarily depends on the situation at a specific time as each measure has its own merits. On the one hand, investing financial resources in boosting a lifestyle of good health is beneficial in the long run, thereby reducing huge costs for the healthcare sector. It means that when a young person leads a healthy life, they can avoid the risks of many life -threatening illnesses. For example, should a person not smoke or consume fast food, they can reduce the probabilities of diabetes, heart attack, and lung cancers. As a result, they do not need to visit hospitals or doctors regularly, and if they maintain this wholesome lifestyle towards old age, they save themselves and the government a great deal of money which can be distributed and used in other necessary areas. Having said that, investments in aiding currently sick people should also be reasonable. It is obviously true that people’s unhealthy ways of life cost a country dearly every year, and it appears to be sensible that the government should intervene so as to ameliorate the problem. However, I believe that anyone can choose how they live their life on the condition that it does comply with the law. Another justification for this notion is that when they are still healthy and strong, they do contribute their labour to the country via taxes, so they should be eligible for the government’s support when they are in need. Therefore, any cuts in budgets for the treatment of those with current health problems would make no sense. In summary, whilst diverting money to raising people’s awareness is of great benefit, it must not be done at the expense of people who are now sick and need monetary aids, notwithstanding costing the economy.