Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, IT IS BELIEVED THAT the high rate of good consumption does not rely on the demand of the public, BUT IT depends totally on advertisements. While I accept that the power of advertising ON HIGH SALES can be true to some extent, I still ARGUE that the customer’s needs also play a vital role in increasing sales. On the one hand, there are many reasons why I believe that commercials impact customers ' buying decisions. First of all, advertising techniques are a channel that conveys product-oriented information to consumers. Therefore, buyers can have an understanding about those products, and make a decision whether to purchase or not. As a result, businesses can gain profits thanks to advertisements. Following that, brand equity is gained through remarkable commercials that attract more customers to buy products. In particular, if a business builds up marketing campaigns that are unique enough to draw consumers’ attention, they can broaden profit margins due to the high purchase of products. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that the high sales of popular consumer goods also rely on the real needs of customers. Firstly, according to researchers of consumer behavior, buyers have an intention to purchase goods that they need to consume. In fact, if they do not have interests in products, or that products do not satisfy customer’s demands, buyers will not spend money. This can be exemplified by customer needs in the COVID-19 period, purchasers are likely to focus on buying necessary goods such as food, beverage, masks, or medicine. Besides, it is said that some people get used to buying products from certain brands. To be more specific, customers need to receive other product’s values over things expressed in advertisements such as the quality of the product. Therefore, they tend to buy those products again which they used to have an experience before. In conclusion, although I cannot deny that advertising is a necessary means of increasing sales, yet I still strongly believe that the real demand of customers is of great benefit to gain profits to an entrepreneur.