Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The examination is a method of evaluating a person’s knowledge and understanding. It often helps in analyzing the standard of learning a toddler has acquired during a specific period. Some people believe the assessment is the best way of understanding a child’s intelligence and intellect. However, I believe tests often undermines a child’s true potential. Firstly, conducting tests creates a good learning environment for the youngsters. As it inculcates the habit of being attentive and focused. Secondly, it helps the teacher in understanding which subject interests a child, since they intend to perform well in subjects that are more interesting to them. Thereby helping the infant to decide his future ambitions. For example, Indian Mathematician Shakuntala Devi performed excellently in her Math’s exam at a very young age which helped everyone in understanding that she was gifted and could play with numbers very well. However, I believe that examinations are not the best way of judging a child’s intelligence. It creates unrequired pressure and competition amongst infants. As they are not prepared for it at a young age, it results in reducing the confidence level of a child. To add on assessment might lead to depression and suicidal instincts amongst student’s, when they are unable to perform as per their family’s expectations. For instance, Jack Ma, founder of Alibaba, failed in his middle school exams several times but today his success story speaks for him. Hence, I would like to conclude by saying that examinations do not allow a child to bloom and become a flower. Students should be allowed to learn and grow at this age. Retain things that they observe every day which will result in real development of the mind and brain.