These days many people prefer online shopping to conventional shopping. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, purchasing product from an online store has become extremely popular, fewer consumers are willing to go shopping in a conventional shopping centre. This new form of shopping has many advantages and drawbacks that worthy of mention. Of the numerous benefits, consumers probably rate convenience as the most important. They can make purchases at any time of the day or night without wasting time and money on transport or finding a parking place. They can shop in their pyjamas if they like, browsing websites in a fraction of the time it takes to go through the shops at the mall. Prices are usually more attractive too because manufacturers are often able to ship the products directly to their potential customers. It is also worth noting that, E-commerce often offers a wide range of selection of merchandise, colours and sizes which can be delivered directly to your door. In addition, online shopping has become the ideal way of shopping for people who would like to avoid the crowd or purchase things in a private setting. Overall, it is much less stressful. As for the disadvantages, one important problem is the deceptive nature of some of the pictures on websites. Potential customers will not be able to touch or try out the goods to check for appropriate size or quality. Consequently, customers are sometimes disappointed and, to make matters worse, they have problems returning articles and obtaining a refund. However, the most worrying aspect of online shopping is that not all web portals used for payments are authentic or trustworthy. Finally, some people find that conventional shopping is a wonderful excuse to get out of the house and socialise with friends; and perhaps stop for a snack and a drink in pleasant surroundings. Online shoppers miss this opportunity. In conclusion, both ways of shopping have their benefits and drawbacks. While online shopping is discreet, fast and convenient, there can be problems with quality and security, and it lacks the sociability of conventional shopping.