Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Some studies suggest that someone’s personality is mainly influenced by inborn characters. This essay thinks that the major aspects affecting someone’s character involve how the parents teach good values to their children and the personalities of people around them. To begin with, toddlers are growing up under family supervision and this plays a big role in fostering good values. This is because, at an early age, children are unable to differentiate between wrong and right. They learn it through their immediate families. Therefore the role of father and mother to educate some manner and make them behave will affect their personalities as they grow up. For example, in Surabaya, many parents use a discussion approach with their kids to teach them how to manage their anger. Mother will ask them why they are angry and the kids will answer the questions and through discussion, they are able to suppress their anger. Moreover, toddlers can easily learn new behaviours by watching people around them. Because they are unable yet to process what is good and bad behaviour, they can copy from family members' and friends’ actions. They can get influenced and develop negative behaviours. For instance, individuals who are growing up in bad social settings such as in low-income and poverty settings tend to develop negative characters influenced by their peers. The young ones usually waste their time on unimportant things rather than studying. In conclusion, someone’s personality is mainly shaped by the good values that parents instil in their kids and how the social settings and people around them affect their personalities.