Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A major part of kids are very addicted to their smartphones and dedicate most of their time to these technological devices. Although some people allow their children to spend most of their time on phones in order to keep them busy which may help parents to focus on the things which are more important such as chores, in my opinion, this process has a negative impact on children's well-being. Firstly, the issues that mobile phones or laptops can create on health are enormous and contain long-term effects. The blue light that is emitted from electronic devices ' screens causes poor sight especially when individuals are exposed the light at an early age. There are different studies that proved that blue light damage the outer layer of the eyes and it causes dried, red eyes which leads to chronic diseases such as astigmatism. Additionally, the long hours spent on phones may provoke problems such as depression or anger issues. The main reason for these issues is video games because they can be very annoying for children especially when they lose a game round. Secondly, the content that children can reach using their smartphones should be restricted based on their ages. Because, these contents may contain some kind of violence, nudity, or something else that is not suitable for them. Moreover, smartphones steal a large amount of time from kids. These individuals should spend time on their creativity to build different skills such as painting, music, or science. In conclusion, while parents let their children spend a lot of time on smart devices for their own good, they also should acquire its negative consequences. The kids should be avoided from these devices by their parents and encouraged to build different skill sets.