Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

There are various ways for citizens to travel these days such as cars and trains. It was thought by some people that governments should endorse a development of railways more than roads or streets. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement due to the two following reasons. First, all public transportation should be developed equally for citizens. In each country, every type of commuting ways is all used. So, citizens expect to have satisfaction for all types they used. It is better if governments interest in both railways and roads. For example, imagine you have to travel by train and then bus to go to work, you have smooth commuting during sitting in the train but then, you ride the bus and are unhappy because of the road surface and environment. Therefore, they should be improved in the same manner. Second, some country has very bad road systems and their quality. If administrators focus only trains, they will be worse mroe and more in the future. Thus, it may be not right if the statement is globally used. For instance, in my country, Thailand, the roads, streets, and valleys are very crowded and they had bad quality. So, if Thai government does not solve the problems and interests only trains, the issues will last forever. Consequently, a development for roads cannot be neglected. To conclude, I personally disagree with the statement because money should be spent on both railways and roads equally. This will make them improved in the same way in the future.