Many people believe that modern music can have a negative impact on the young. Others believe the effect of modern music is positive. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Music has become a universal language across the world influencing many people from the old to the young. The music industry is said to produce a wide variety of songs each year as well. Nonetheless, the question of whether modern music has either positive or negative effects is up for debate. On one hand, current songs cover heavy topics such as terrorism, violence and racism as well as uses explicit words to convey their points. For example, genres like rock and electronic pop covered the most amount of foul language. In addition, these kinds of music are harmful to the younger generation because they are easily influenced and may look at these musical artists as role models, trying to mimic their inappropriate style of conversation. In short, modern music covers heavy topics and proves to have a poor influence on the young. On the other hand, some say that modern music is more catchy and better sounding than the tunes made by the previous generation of artists. Listening to music can also help one to socialize with others as there is something in common between them. A survey conducted by Bloomberg News has concluded that modern songs have helped more than 78% of adolescents to socialize among their peers. This may be due to the fact that being fans of a group of musicians can make people feel like they belong to a larger community. In summary, a more noteworthy effect of these tunes is that they can help foster friendship among the youth and help them socialize. In a nutshell, I believe that modern songs have more of a negative impact rather than a positive one. However, this can be changed provided that it does not use explicit lyrics and delves into lighter topics which children and teens alike can enjoy.