In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A plethora of developed countries citizen's is obese hence, tackling a lot of health issue due to heavy consumption of fast and processed food. Governing bodies of these nations should take netizen's health into consideration and impose high tax reform on outlets serving unhealthy meals. This essay agrees with the statement as obesity can kill people and put them at high risk of a shorter life span,filling the hospital beds and graves faster. Firstly, The main issue is processed food is easy to manufacture as they are made in bulk. Secondly, They are available in the vending machine outside school,colleges and offices making them easier to reach and consume. Last but not the list prices of unhealthy chips and soda are lower than healthy meals which increases its buying power. To curb this problem government should prosecute heavy tax on food companies making them expensive.A good example is in America an enormous amount of teenagers are obese due to the high-fat content of food available in school/restaurants lunches whereas in Japan it's the opposite. The government in Japan has imposed a high tax on fast food joints such as KFC,burger king and Chipotle making them costlier for the general public. On the other hand, an alternative way to tackle this is by reducing the advertisement and marketing of junk food on TV,newspaper and social media sites moreover we can make individuals realise the peril of their food habits. In,India food delivery app such as zomato,swiggy advertise fast food on television and urge the customer to order it unlikely governance can ask them to focus on healthy alternatives. Food inspectors can inspect and ban the items from the market which indulge in heavy sugar,lead, preservatives used in meals such as noodles,milkshakes and soda. To illustrate Nestle was banned in India for few years as a lead was found in maggie noodles in addition to this hefty fine was imposed tarnishing their brand value. Another example is Patanjali brand in India market themselves for healthy tonics and juices,, however after,inspection it was concluded that half of their products are unhealthy. To conclude, eating a healthier meal is a personal choice however leaders of the country can divert their population to healthy choices as the majority of hospitals are getting cancer /heart attack patients in recent times. Policies of a nation can change their citizen's lives apart from higher tax, alternative measures such as social medial and TV advertisement of the danger of fast food can also be broadcasted to lead people great life.