Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

The problem of whether or not most students should take a gap year in case to gain professional experience or travel just before applying to a university has sparked a heated debate. While some individuals argue that taking a year off is a big waste of time for students, I contend that it is better to explore the world and spend time on personal growth, as it would exert a positive/negative influence on applicants. There are several reasons why proponents of taking gap years before starting university study maintain that it is the worst idea to do so, with the most salient being that applicants can feel fear of missing out due to their age difference from other university learners. For example, according to Yale University research, about 35% of their students can not properly join the community,and feel a bit neglected as they are much older than their classmates. Another cogent reason is that most parents worry about the academic performance of their children, which might precipitate not only their grades, but also their well-being. I firmly believe that having a break for a year after graduation is relatively positive, primarily due to its implications for personal improvement and growth, as teenagers are just entering adult life and it is important to gain life experience. Furthermore, having a year between graduation and university application gives an opportunity to stabilize mental and physical health, which substantiates this stance. For example, a study conducted by the Worldwide Healthcare Organization proved that every fifth student in Kanada does not face academic stress, as they had a gap year before starting studying. This is particularly desirable as it would culminate in adult life, because students who took a year off have not only needed experience, but good well-being. In summary, while opponents contend that a hiatus before an academic comeback is not worth it due to its negative influence on academic performance and place in the university community, I unequivocally assert that taking a year to improve self-characteristics is a more pragmatic and beneficial approach.