It if often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree with this view?

Some commentators believe that people often expected to abandon their occupation and unwind for the rest of their life. However, it seems to me that in modern society, elderly people are not really ready for this isolation as well as retirement is not actually the most contented period of a person’s life, and I will explain the reasons here. Firstly, retired people may struggle with the majority of health problems. When they get older, no matter how optimistic they are, how carefully they try to do exercises on a daily basis to keep fit, their health will unavoidably decline. This besets their mobility, their capability to interact with other people. Another negative element is that retired people are able to be isolated from everyone around them. For example, I have seen my uncle who is going into depression after leaving his employment because of the fact that his wife and his daughters are busy with their hectic schedule, moreover, his grandchildren are also busy with their school and extracurricular activities. Therefore, he fell into the world of isolation, and gradually this has a detrimental effect on his mental and physical health. For those reasons, it is an undeniable fact that after retirement, people have to be faced with a wide range of difficulties. It is true that there are some positive aspects of retirement, people are able to spend time to pursue their interests or have a long vacation. In spite of this, for many elderly people, the detrimental effects outweigh the merits of retirement. To sum up, with the problems of health and being isolated, it would appear that retirement is not the most contented time of life.