In the past shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people now a a days regard it as a hobby. Is this a positive trend ?

Previously shopping was considered a household activity. However, in the current,world people enjoy it as a leisure activity.I believe this has a positive impact on society. The same shall be discussed further in this essay. In the olden days, people would shop from a local retail market nearby their homes and would step out only when necessary. Moreover, there was male domination, especially in developing countries like India, where only males like father or grandfather would bring the required products. Females hardly step out of their houses. For example, my grandmother never went shopping in her whole life. Her husband or son would bring the necessary items. Nevertheless,In the modern world,unlike in the past, the whole family go out shopping in malls or supermarkets,be it to buy or just for fun.They plan their day out on weekends or holidays and spend quality time with their friends and families as they will be busy working as most of them do 9 to 5 jobs and hardly have any time during the week. Furthermore, Malls are well equipped with great ambience,fun zones for kids and food courts for enjoying delicious snacks or meals. For example, there is a lot of traffic on the roads on weekends since most families spend their time in malls or supermarkets. In conclusion, in the past shopping was only a routine task.On contrary, in today's world shopping is considered a leisure activity hence, family members spend quality time with each other. Thus,it is a positive trend in the society as parents are busy on weekdays and can give time to their children on weekends.